Welcome to Punjab

Punjab is a state in northern India. Forming part of the larger Punjab region, the state is bordered by the Indian states of Jammu and Kashmir to the north, Himachal Pradesh to the east, Haryana to the south and southeast, Rajasthan to the southwest, and the Pakistan province of Punjab to the west. The state covers an area of 50,362 square kilometres or 1.53 percent of the total geographical area of India. It is the twentieth largest Indian state by area. The state capital is located in Chandigarh, a Union Territory and also the capital of the neighboring state of Haryana. The five rivers are Sutlej, Ravi, Beas, Chenab and Jhelum.